Charlotte, NC – The 2018 football season has been full of great performances, amazing plays and outstanding coaching.  As the season comes to close one of our favorite things to do is to announce the winners of the FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf. These awards are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football.

Scott Roussel of Football Scoop presents Tyler Cook of UAB with the award for Football Operations Director of the Year

The finalists for each award were selected off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic director personnel. The prior winners of the award then choose the winner from the list of finalists. If asked, most of the winners will tell you that this award means much more than others because it is chosen by their peers.  Now in its tenth year, the FootballScoop Awards presented by AstroTurf has grown into a highly anticipated event within the football coaching profession. Awards are handed out to the winners at a reception during the American Football Coaches Association Convention each year.

This year’s winners include:  Offensive Coordinator of the Year, Josh Heupel of the University of Missouri.  Defensive Coordinator of the Year, Kevin Steele, Auburn University. Special Teams Coordinator of the Year, James Shibest, Virginia Tech.  Quarterbacks Coach of the Year, Jim Chaney, University of Georgia.  Running Backs Coach of the Year, Tony Elliott, Clemson University. Wide Receiver Coach of the Year, Kasey Dunn, Oklahoma State University. Offensive Line Coach of the Year, Bill Bedenbaugh, University of Oklahoma.  Defensive Line Coach of the Year, Larry Johnson, Ohio State University. Linebackers Coach of the Year, Tyson Veidt, Iowa State University.  Defensive Backs Coach of the Year, Anthony Campanile, Boston College. Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year, Zach Duval, University of Central Florida. Football Operations Director of the Year, Tyler Cook, UAB. FCS Coordinator of the Year, Bob Truett, James Madison University.  DII Coordinator of the Year, Matt Storm, Texas A&M Commerce. DIII Coordinator of the Year, Larry Harmon, Mary Hardin-Baylor. NAIA Coordinator of the Year, Patrick Donley & Trevor Miller, Saint Francis.

FootballScoop and AstroTurf are excited to partner together to present these well-deserved awards each year. “Anytime that you can acknowledge hard work, success, drive and commitment it is a good thing”, says Gary Jones, Communications Manager for AstroTurf. “Being able to recognize those people who are so well-respected in their profession is one our favorite things we get to do each year.”

For more information about each individual award, please visit

About FootballScoop
 Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.

About AstroTurf®

For athletes and sport enthusiasts, AstroTurf® has redefined the way the game is played. The brand offers advanced, state-of-the-art, multi-sport and specialized synthetic turf systems with proprietary engineered technologies. A growing number of high schools, colleges, professional sports teams and municipalities continue to select AstroTurf-branded products for their premium quality, technical superiority, and safety.  To learn more, visit AstroTurf’s newly redesigned website at